Thursday, February 29, 2024
HomeNHLTop NHL Players with the Most Game-Winning Goals

Top NHL Players with the Most Game-Winning Goals

The ability to deliver in high-pressure situations and secure a victory is a hallmark of an elite hockey player. Here is a list of the top NHL players who have scored the most game-winning goals in their careers, accompanied by brief bios of each player.

  1. Jaromír Jágr (1990-18) – 135 GWG
    • A Czech professional ice hockey player, Jágr is the second-leading point scorer in NHL history. He played for several NHL teams, notably the Pittsburgh Penguins, with whom he won two Stanley Cup titles.
  2. Alex Ovechkin (2005-24) – 124 GWG
    • Hailing from Russia, Ovechkin is known for his incredible goal-scoring ability. He has played for the Washington Capitals for most of his career and won the Stanley Cup in 2018.
  3. Gordie Howe (1946-80) – 121 GWG
    • A Canadian icon, Howe played an astonishing 26 seasons in the NHL, mainly with the Detroit Red Wings. He’s a 4-time Stanley Cup winner and often regarded as one of the greatest players of all time.
  4. Phil Esposito (1963-81) – 118 GWG
    • A dominant force for the Boston Bruins and New York Rangers, Esposito led the league in scoring multiple times and won two Stanley Cups with Boston.
  5. Brett Hull (1986-06) & Teemu Selänne (1992-14) – 110 GWG each
    • Hull, a dynamic goal scorer, played for several teams but is most remembered for his time with the St. Louis Blues and Dallas Stars.
    • Selänne, the “Finnish Flash”, dazzled with his speed and skill, mostly for the Anaheim Ducks and Winnipeg Jets.
  6. Patrick Marleau (1997-21) & Brendan Shanahan (1987-09) – 109 GWG each
    • Marleau spent the bulk of his career with the San Jose Sharks, setting multiple franchise records.
    • Shanahan, known for his scoring and physical play, won three Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings.
  7. Jarome Iginla (1996-17) – 101 GWG
    • A dominant force for the Calgary Flames, Iginla is the team’s all-time leader in goals, points, and games played.
  8. Bobby Hull (1957-80) & Guy Lafleur (1971-91) – 98 GWG each
  • Both players are iconic figures for their respective franchises, the Chicago Black Hawks (Hull) and the Montreal Canadiens (Lafleur).
Listicled Staff
Listicled Staff
Listicled staff covers everything from sports to entertainment, politics to parenting, and everything in-between.

Most Popular

Recent Comments