Wednesday, February 28, 2024
HomeNBAThe 10 Greatest Los Angeles Lakers Teams of All-Time

The 10 Greatest Los Angeles Lakers Teams of All-Time

The Los Angeles Lakers are one of the most storied franchises in NBA history. With countless Hall of Famers, legendary moments, and championship banners hanging in the rafters, selecting the 10 greatest teams in franchise history is no easy task. Nonetheless, we’ve attempted to rank the cream of the crop based on their dominance, talent, and impact.

  1. 1971-1972 Lakers: Under the guidance of Coach Bill Sharman, this team boasted a 69-13 record and an NBA-record 33-game winning streak. With stars like Wilt Chamberlain, Jerry West, and Gail Goodrich, they steamrolled their way to a championship.
  2. 1999-2000 Lakers: The beginning of the Shaq-Kobe era of dominance. With Phil Jackson at the helm, the Lakers captured their first title since the 1980s, led by Shaquille O’Neal‘s MVP season. This set the stage for a new dynasty in the 2000s.
  3. 1986-1987 Lakers: The Showtime Lakers at their peak. Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and James Worthy led the team to a dominant 65-17 record and a title, besting the Celtics in a classic Finals matchup.
  4. 2000-2001 Lakers: Arguably the most dominant postseason team in NBA history, going 15-1 in the playoffs. Shaq and Kobe were unstoppable, and the team had the chemistry and killer instinct to demolish opponents.
  5. 2008-2009 Lakers: Kobe Bryant, now the primary star, led a balanced team alongside Pau Gasol, Lamar Odom, and others. They captured the title with a 65-17 regular season record, marking Bryant’s first championship without Shaq.
  6. 1984-1985 Lakers: Known as the team that finally beat Boston in the Finals. Magic and Kareem avenged their previous year’s loss to the Celtics, giving LA a huge morale boost and adding another title to the collection.
  7. 2001-2002 Lakers: Completing a three-peat, this Lakers squad overcame challenges and drama. The iconic Robert Horry game-winner against the Kings in the Western Conference Finals is still remembered by fans.
  8. 1987-1988 Lakers: Showtime’s last hurrah. In Pat Riley‘s final season as coach, the Lakers repeated as champions, besting the Detroit Pistons in a tough seven-game series.
  9. 1979-1980 Lakers: The beginning of the Magic Johnson era. As a rookie, Magic led the Lakers to a championship and even played center in the decisive Game 6 of the Finals, showcasing his unmatched versatility.
  10. 2019-2020 Lakers: In a year marked by tragedy with the passing of Kobe Bryant, LeBron James and Anthony Davis brought a championship back to LA. This squad, while not as dominant as some previous teams, showed resilience, versatility, and a commitment to defense.

SHOP NOW: Get Lakers Gear From Amazon!

Each of these teams holds a special place in the heart of Lakers fans. The franchise’s continued excellence, from the days of Mikan in Minneapolis to the LeBron era in LA, cements its place as one of the NBA’s true dynasties.

Listicled Staff
Listicled Staff
Listicled staff covers everything from sports to entertainment, politics to parenting, and everything in-between.

Most Popular

Recent Comments